It’s Monday…

…and that seems as good a reason to blog, again, as any. So hello there! How’ve you been? It’s been a while.

Sooo.

You know when you haven’t seen an old friend for a long time and the first few minutes are a bit awkward because you have too much to say and you’re suddenly shy around them because you’re worried they won’t like you anymore or it won’t be like it was?

That.

Summed up beautifully by Jeanette Winterson in Sexing the Cherry which, by some miraculous coincidence, I happen to be reading a.t.m.:

(Clears throat)

I wanted to tell him things, to tell him I loved him and how much I’d missed him, but thirteen years of words were fighting in my throat and I couldn’t get any of them out. There was too much to say so I said nothing.

Isn’t that lovely?  By the way, it’s a beautiful book. I recommend it. Highly.

Moving on: I’ve decided to partake in Camp NaNoWriMo this April. But Louise, you have a job now and you haven’t written a word of your novel since you started! Well, that’s exactly why I need to do NaNoWriMo, only I’m not going for the full 50,000, but a cool 30,000. I figured 1,000 words a day was doable, nomatter how out of practice I am. Plus, I have vague plans of limbering up beforehand. Something to do with getting into the habit of a writing time, although when that will be I do not know. After work at some point, that’s obvious, but before or after dinner? And what, exactly, will this training involve? Writing? Planning? Sitting? Just had a thought: automatic writing in Cathy’s voice. To, you know, channel her fictional spirit or whatever. Could work.

In other news, I’m thinking about getting a haircut.

Leave a Reply

