A Treasure Map

Last week, I stumbled across an invaluable blog post by C. S. Lakin, entitled Essential Strategic Planning for Writers—Looking Ahead to 2013 and, in the spirit of doing things as they come up, promptly created my own strategic map, which I like to think of as a treasure map because if I follow it, it will lead to treasure. Abstract treasure, at first, but in 5 years time, I’m aiming for real treasure. Money.

Spurred on my this success, I also finished re-plotting Mother Stands for Comfort, which means I am now ready to rewrite. I’m excited but also a little daunted by the prospect. My plan had me beginning in the New Year, because I thought it would take longer to finish the re-plot, but seeing as I’m ready to go, now, why not get ahead?

And I’ve just 5 minutes ago thought up a reward system to keep me motivated. So a big part of the plan/map is to get into the habit of writing every day. But you know how it goes, some days you just don’t want to. So, whenever I specifically want to do something, such as read or watch an episode of something or listen to a certain song (which tends to happen in the middle of yet another tedious application form or when I’ve been staring at my Personal Profile for half an hour, trying to make it ‘sell myself’) I will stop what I’m doing, fulfil my writing quota (which is going to be 1,000 words a day in January but I might warm up to that with ‘anything’) and then do the thing I want to do. What do you think? Good idea?

Do you have any plans for 2013, yet? If so, how are you going to motivate yourself to stay on track?

Leave a Reply

