The Chronic Hiatus

I’m a bit distracted right now because my laptop is burning up and whirring loudly. In fact, I’m sure I just heard him groan. Cool your beans, Mr Laptop, I’m worried about you. Maybe I’m working him too hard. Poor thing.

Right, both Mr Laptop (this is a new name for it, btw) and myself have had a rest. He is now cool and quiet. So, on with the point of this post: the hiatus.

It’s becoming a serious problem. I think I need help. Some goals or new regime or something to make me start writing again. Well, re-plotting to be exact. I feel like this editing project is draining me of all my creative, literary energy like some kind of vampire. Excuses, excuses. I don’t have time blah, blah, blah. You know what I need? I great big kick up the bum. Help, please?

(Speaking of vampires – and this is completely off topic, by the way – I went to that Edvard Munch exhibition at the Tate Modern the other day. Yeah, I know, I have time for a jaunt into London to wander around an art gallery, but I got an idea which is what I was looking for. Anyway, there was a painting called The Vampyre – two, actually – which was really interesting. It showed a couple in an embrace where the woman appeared to be on the man’s neck – hence the title. Also, there was another painting called The Kiss in which the couple were sort of blurring into each other. Sucking the life out of each other, perhaps. I’m not really going anywhere with this, I just thought it was interesting – in the non-British sense (i.e. literally interesting, not ‘interesting’/stupid.))

Anyone else go see Munch?

Also, any tips on motivation would be amazing.

Leave a Reply

