Weekly Update: To Dip or Not to Dip

Tomorrow is 1st May, which in St Andrews means one thing: staying up all night getting drunk and running into the sea at dawn. Why? It’s a tradition and St Andrews is a traditional place. Plus it’s an excuse to stay up drinking all night.

The thing is, it’s the staying up all night drinking part that phases me. At 18, I wouldn’t have thought twice about it but now I’m a bit older, my body just does not like it. The last time I did something close to an all-nighter, I was shaking, nauseous and feverish. My reflection looked like I was pulling a whitey – you know, red eyes staring out of waxy, blood-drained skin. Not healthy. Now combine that with alcohol and plunging into the North Sea and what do you get? Nothing good. I suspect there’d be some vomiting.

So I might skip that whole part and just run into the sea at dawn. Then again, a beach full of drunk undergrads doesn’t really appeal. If I was drunk, that wouldn’t be a problem but have you ever been around lots of wasted people when you’re sober? It’s not fun.

Still, I do feel that this is one of those once-in-a-lifetime experiences that I should give a go. So, I don’t know what I’m going to do. Maybe I’ll compromise – have a couple of drinks, then a nap, then run into the sea. I don’t know.

What do you think? Should I do it?

Leave a Reply

