Weekly Update: It’s Over!

Last Friday I submitted that awful essay. Thank god that’s over. It was a nightmare. My total sleep for Wednesday and Thursday was 7 hours. I have never been so exhausted in my life. Honestly, I think I’m getting too old for all-nighters, or almost-all-nighters. My body just can’t handle sleep deprivation any more. It’s taken me all weekend to recover and I’m still pretty tired now. But there’s no rest for the wicked. Tomorrow I’m leading the seminar discussion on Shirley Hazzard’s The Transit of Venus, which I have yet to finish reading. I started it on the train yesterday (I went to Manchester for the weekend) but couldn’t get far because on the first train there were no seats; the second was a Virgin train (I think I’ve established they make me feel queasy) and the last train had a lot of loud conversations going on in it. With another book that might have been fine but turns out this one requires maximum concentration – not an easy read. I spent 10 minutes trying to read one page then gave up.

I guess I’d better crack on, then.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Update: It’s Over!

Leave a Reply

