Weekly Update: Finding the Plot

Tomorrow, I have a meeting with one of my tutors about my novel, for which he’s asked me to submit a synopsis. I think he’s going to get a lot more than he bargained for – I just finished it and it’s a sentence over 9 pages. But I’m sure reading it will be a much quicker, easier, less painful process than writing it was. Until my meeting with my other tutor last Wednesday, I had been avoiding the novel a bit. Since then I’ve started to write some stuff about it – what I know/don’t know, a few character interviews, and started to plot the thing – but I was taking it pretty easy, until yesterday, when I decided to make a start on something to send to him. It was a bit of a nightmare. I was working solidly from 4pm until midnight. I may have taken half an hour off for food consumption but other than that I was hard at it – and it was a slow, painful process – but more on that on Wednesday.

I’d also like to talk about my essay in tomorrow’s meeting but in order to do that I have to figure out what I’m going to write my essay on. My options are: something based on the research I’m doing for my novel or a comparison between 18th/19th century and contemporary gothic literature – to explore whether or not the latter really is gothic. The problem is there’s one topic left I’d like to research in the hope of finding an essay in it, so until I’ve done that I won’t know which to choose. So, I’ll have to do that today. Also, if I choose to compare gothic novels, I’ve no idea which I’d do. I’m considering The Deadly Space Between by Patricia Duncker as my contemporary, mainly because I’ve read it before and remember it as being gothic and would like to read it again, anyway. Then again, I want to read as much gothic fiction as I can, so this would be a good way to force myself to read something new. The trouble with that is, I won’t know if it’s gothic until I’ve read it and I don’t have that much time. (The essay’s due in a week on Friday).

I also have to finish the Kazuo Ishiguro novel I’m reading for tomorrow’s seminar, The Remains of the Day, but I’m loving it and so looking forward to that as a break from the ‘real’ work. (When you start seeing some work as a break from other work, well, you’re working too hard I guess!)

To summarise: work, work, work.

P.S. If anyone has any ideas for gothic novels to base my essay on – old or new – I’d be very grateful.

Cheers chaps and chapesses.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Update: Finding the Plot

  1. At UEA we wrote an essay comparing ‘The Deadly Space Between’ to Frankenstein. But this is a bit of an obvious choice. My favourite classic Gothic novel is Matthew Lewis’ The Monk – highly recommended

    • I’m pretty sure I did that essay – am tempted to do another although might be kind of cheating! Thanks, I’ve been considering the Monk. Haven’t read it yet but will do, even if I don’t do the essay on it.

Leave a Reply

