Novel Journey 4: NaNoWriMo

It began well. My lack of plot did not phase me – I was confident that one would emerge as I wrote. In fact, I think it helped. There was no pressure to start in the right place or write a great opening. In fact, the scene I wrote first will not make it to the second draft. It’s a whole lot of throat clearing but for the purpose of writing 50,000 words in a month, that’s fine. Pretty much anything goes. Or so I felt in week 1.

This feeling continued into week 2. I made steady progress. Scenes began to emerge as if from nowhere. When I was stuck, the wordsprints spurred me on. I still didn’t have a plot but that didn’t matter. Yet.

In week 3 I hit a bump. My brother visited so I put nanowrimo on hold. I didn’t give up, though, oh no. I was confident that I’d be able to catch up.

The beginning of week 4 brought highs I’d never experienced from writing before. I couldn’t sleep, could hardly eat. All I could think about was my novel. I went a bit mental, to be honest. Then I struggled.

My word count soured but I struggled. It was all fluff and I knew it. The novel was shit. I still didn’t have a plot. I might reach 50,000 words but it would be 50,000 words of crap.

I won Nanowrimo but I didn’t feel like I had. How had I failed to find a plot in 50,000 words? I doubted that any of it was worth keeping and I had no idea of where to go from there. I was at a loss.

Nanowrimo was exhilarating. For the first couple of weeks it was the most fun I’d ever had writing. For that, I guess, it was worth it. But how would it affect Sylvia? Only time will tell.

Next week, find out what happened when I brought Sylvia to class.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Novel Journey 4: NaNoWriMo

  1. It sounds like you had an incredible mind altering experience. There is a buzz about NaNoWriMo participants just now revisiting their pages to edit and revise. Did you need to distance yourself after the month or did you remain close knit to your project?

  2. Writers block is the worst. I only write children’s books for my kids, but when I get blocked it helps me to write about the characters picking their noses or doing somersaults, or something else silly. Get’s my mind back into the world.

Leave a Reply

