Weekly Update: The New Year

Ah, it’s a new year. A fresh start. Whatever may have happened last year doesn’t matter. Because this year, everything will be different.

It’s the same every year, isn’t it? And what has happened by the end of the year? Probably the same as last year. I can’t ever remember the resolutions I made by the end of December and I don’t see why this year should be different. But that doesn’t mean I’m disheartened. I know it doesn’t really matter.

Because you don’t have to wait for the new year to change things, to set yourself goals or ‘resolutions’. You can do that at any minute of any day. And I know I will continue to do so throughout the year.

The new year is a bit like NaNoWriMo. You could write a novel every month, you don’t have to wait for November. But when you join NaNo, you join a community. Lots of people are doing it at the same time and, personally, I find this encouraging.

I guess my point is this: make new year’s resolutions or don’t, it’s up to you, but either way, have a better new year.

 

 

Leave a Reply

