Weekly Update: Deadlines

By Friday this week, I have to have written and perfected a 3,500 – 5,000 word literary essay. By the end of November, I have to have written 50,000 words of novel. I would like this to be a complete novel. That would be nice. By that I mean I’d like to have completed the first draft.

Yesterday evening my tutor emailed us to tell us the structure of the following day’s seminar, as one that would be on Thursday was re-scheduled to tack onto the end of today’s. Part of that was editing each other’s essays.

When I discovered this email, I had 1,000 words. So I did the inevitable panic-essay-all-nighter a couple of days earlier than I normally would. I ‘finished’ the essay at 2.30am (OK, not quite the all-nighter but this is way past my bed time) and got up with enough time to proof-read and print it before the seminar-marathon that commenced at 11am. It made a lot more sense than I thought it would. In saying that, it still needs work. I mean, I probably could get away with handing it in as it is but wouldn’t get a great mark. Besides, I’m a little short of the minimum word count and still have a lot of ideas that I want to incorporate.

The problem is, having done this late-at-night-panic-essay-writing my brain thinks I’ve finished my essay and has disengaged. It lasted throughout the 4 hour seminar but I’ve since been unable to convince it that my essay is not finished and handed in, it is in fact, still a long way off from completion.

It’s also given up on NaNoWriMo for the day. I wrote what may or may not turn out to be a chapter at about 1,250 words and my brain decided that that was enough. ‘But I’m meant to write 1667 words a day to stay on track,’ I said. My brain gave no reply. It had already shut down for the night.

Brains are overrated.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Update: Deadlines

  1. That is exactly how my brain feels. And while I should go to sleep now, I think I’ll eat some pringles and watch a movie. Cause I’ve had too much coffee to sleep quite yet.

Leave a Reply

