Breaking News

So, I’ve been here (by here I mean St Andrews – I always feel like I need footnotes or something for these posts!) for almost a week now and I’ve been thinking a lot about…well, a lot of things, really. Writing and literature and blogging and books and people and…stuff.

Anyway, my point is I’ve decided to give this blog a structure. So on Mondays I’ll be writing about, well, writing but not in the tips/advice for other writers sense – more in terms of the process of writing as something mysterious – because it is mysterious and I don’t think that’s just the case for writers. In fact, I’d say it’s even more mysterious to people who don’t write – it’s almost this completely unfathomable, weird thing to people who don’t write. Mind you, I think most people have either thought about it or dabbled, you know? Even if they/you haven’t, I think that anyone who reads is interested in it if they really think about it – if you really think about it. Because where does it come from? This writing stuff – these ideas and words – these places and people that exist only in the imagination but can seem to be so real. I realise that this post is very fragmented – more than usual – and I’m editing it now and trying to iron it all out but it just won’t. Sorry!

So that’ll be Mondays. Moving on to Wednesdays – that’s when I’ll do a kind of update/catch-up on what’s been going on in my life – not the boring stuff (I hope) I’ll try to make it entertaining and interesting and whatnot.

And on Fridays I’ll be doing flash fiction. It won’t always be good because it’s not something I’m going to be spending a lot of time on – it’ll be more fun, quick stuff but I hope people will like it nonetheless. (I don’t mean I’m just going to post shit – I hope I won’t anyway – I just mean it won’t be anything life/world-changing. It’ll probably be mostly silly stuff that, I don’t know, whatever ideas that catch my attention and appeal to my quirky sense of humour. I think that kind of thing works well in flash fiction. I mean, yes, if you can do the life/world-changing stuff then that’s amazing but I just don’t think I’m at that level yet.)

So, yeah, I hope you like the new structure and material. Let me know what you think. I’m always hungry for feedback.

Thanks for reading.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

