Mummy, You’re Making Me Sad

Lydia stared at the animal in the picture book. ‘Elephant.’

‘Very good and what colour is the elephant?’

Lydia searched her brain for the answer. ‘Grey.’

‘No it’s brown. Brown elephant.’ Her mum stabbed the book with her finger.

‘Brown,’ Lydia muttered to herself.

A phone rang in her mum’s bag.

Lydia bounced about on her seat. ‘Who is it? Who is it?’

‘One second, darling. Hello? Oh hey, how are you?’

‘Who is it?’ She sat still as the excitement began to ebb away.

‘Yeah, we’re just on the train now. Yeah it’s OK. Oh I didn’t tell you -.’

‘Mummy. Mummy?’

‘Sh Lydia. What was I saying?’

‘Mummy who is it?’

‘It’s Sarah.’

‘Can I talk to her?’

‘Oh OK, yeah. Ha ha really?’

Lydia was beginning to feel left out. ‘Mummy I want to talk to her.’

‘No. You’re joking.’

‘Mummy I want to talk to Sarah.’ Lydia made a grab for the phone.

‘Just a second.’ She held the phone against her neck. ‘What?’

‘I want to talk to her.’

‘You can’t darling, she doesn’t have much battery. OK?’

‘But mummy.’ Lydia slumped back in her seat.

‘Sorry about that, what were you saying?’

‘You’re making me sad mummy.’ Lydia started to cry.

‘Oh yeah? Yeah?’

‘Mummy, you’re making me sad. You’re making me sad mummy. Mummy.’

‘No,’ her mum laughed.

Lydia was sobbing now. ‘Mummy, you’re making me sad, mummy. Mummy. Mummy. You’re making me sad. You’re making me sad.’

Leave a Reply

